top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Cheri

Household Cleaning Supplies DIY's and Dont's

I've rounded up my favorite DIY cleaning formulas for various commonly-used products, and additionally, all of the things I don't do anymore. I assume you're already intrigued if you're reading this post, but incase you need any more convincing that this is totally worth a try, I'll list a few:

  • it's cheaper

  • they're low / no tox

  • they minimize waste

  • they work

I've calculated it out to it costing to make my basic cleaning supplies. Usually, I make anything that is to be sprayed in a this amber glass bottle from Amazon. Here's my top 4 formulas and the cost breakdown:


1. Dishwasher Detergent

2 tbsp baking soda ($0.02)

2 squirts of dish soap ($0.12)


Thats it! I just combine that in the detergent compartment of my dishwasher, and my dishes come out just as clean as if i've used store bought dish detergent.



5. Multi Surface Cleaner


mrs.meyers concentrate ($0.25 / fl oz)

water


I fill up a 16 oz amber glass bottle with 2 cap fulls of the concentrate. One bottle will last forever, and I use Amazon's subscribe and save to have these delivered every 6 months.


3. Daily Shower Spray


2 cups warm water

1 tbsp dish soap ($0.12)

1 tbsp white vinegar ($.02)

eucalyptus essential oil


I spray this daily after I take a shower, and I just let it sit on the walls and floor for a minute and then quickly rinse it. It allows me to go longer in-between deep cleans.



4. Glass Cleaner


2 cups water

1 cup rubbing alcohol ($.03)

a drop of dish soap ($0.06)

1 tbsp ammonia ($0.01)


I use a microfiber cloth to wipe the surface down.




Here's a list of 4 things we stopped doing:


1. Buying Paper Towel


We ran out one day and just never bought them again. We transitioned into using microfiber cloths.


2. Buying Dryer Sheets


We use wool dryer balls instead and drop some essential oil on it to make our clothes smell nice!


3. Buy Individual Hand Soaps


I buy Mrs. Meyers hand soap refill in a bulk sized container and I refill all my amber glass bottles with it instead.


4. Using Too Much


Its so easy to over-use products. It's best to be mindful by starting with a small amount and adding more as needed, rather than aggressively scattering dish soap over a stack of dishes in a sink. Also, cleaning as you go rather than letting clutter pile up and attack it in one large purging session.




9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

love, the strongest drug

I remember my first love, dancing in my kitchen with my mother. It was a tender age, a time decorated in innocence but fueled with...

the other side of pain

Well, I’m here writing again. Not entirely sure why. It’s 11:34, and I should be sleeping. But I can’t. It‘s late at night when these...

1 Comment


Faith White
Faith White
Jun 14, 2021

Nice! I do a lot of the same things you do! I use Grove Collaborative and Eden’s Garden for a lot of my supplies. Unfortunately I can’t break free from paper towels. Haven’t gotten that one worked out yet, lol.

Like
bottom of page